Profile of Laboratory of Medical Physics

logo medical department_01

The Department of Medical Physics, School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Patras was founded in 1978. Currently, it employs four academic staff members, one special laboratory teaching staff and one special technical staff while it supervises the Clinical Laboratory of Medical Physics of the University General Hospital of Patras, currently employing 5 clinical medical radiation physicists.

The undergraduate teaching activities of the Department of Medical Physics involve undergraduate courses offered at the curricula of the School of Medicine (Medical Physics, Biostatistics and Medical Informatics) and the Department of Physics (Medical Physics and undergraduate thesis supervision) of the University of Patras. At the postgraduate level, the Department of Medical Physics coordinates the Interdepartmental Program of Studies in Medical Physics – Radiation Physics of the University of Patras, since 1993, and currently contributes in the following Postgraduate Programs of Studies of the University of Patras, namely, Biomedical Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Health Science Informatics and Public Health.