Brief Description

The postgraduate program in Medical Physics-Radiation Physics was founded in 1988 and has been the first program in Greece (1993) officially offering a Postgraduate Diploma (Master of Science). The program has recently (2018) been revised (FEK 1627/10.5.2018 & FEK 3922/10.9.2018), aiming to:

  • be harmonized with European Medical Physics Programs of studies accreditation specifications.
  • prepare graduates (holding a BSc Degree in Physics) to be accepted in the 3-year training in Medical Physics offered by the Greek Hospitals, required for participating to the Professional License Examinations.
  • offer scientific knowledge and research skills, necessary to Physicists and related Scientists, wishing to be involved in Research and Development in the field of Medical Physics–Radiation Physics.


The Departments that participate in the Interdepartmental Postgraduate Program of Studies in Medical Physics–Radiation Physics are:

  • Faculty of Medicine, School of Health Sciences, University of Patras
  • Department of Physics, School of Natural Sciences, University of Patras


The Secretariat of the School of Medicine is responsible for the registration of the postgraduate students and the maintenance of student records.

Enrollment of Postgraduate Students each year takes place in from the middle of October within the deadline date set by the Committee of the Program.

The Postgraduate Students are required to renew their registration every six months via the electronic secretariat.


The duration of the Program is three (3) academic semesters.

The teaching and exams for the first semester take place from the 1 October to 31 January and the second semester from 1 February to 30 June.

Credit Units

The total number of Credit Units (ECTS) required to acquire the Interdepartmental Postgraduate Program are ninety (90), i.e. 30 ECTS per semester.


In order to obtain the Postgraduate Diploma (MSc), students are required to attend and take the exams for all courses of the first and second semester and to successfully complete their thesis during the 3rd semester.

Language of Instruction

The language of Instruction is English

Leads to MSc

The Program is leading to a Postgraduate Diploma (Master of Science) in Medical Physics-Radiation Physics.